Wednesday, February 28, 2024

    Stargate SG-1 (DVD) Review

    More articles

    A sequel to the 1994 movie Stargate, Stargate SG-1 is one of the premiere science-fiction series on television. First airing in July 1997, the show has been nominated for 7 Emmys and 23 Saturn Awards. The brainchild of creator Dean Devlin, producer of such Hollywood blockbusters as Independence Day (1996) and The Patriot (2000), Stargate SG-1 chronicles the further adventures of the Stargate Command (SGC) as Earth and its citizens advance forward into a new era of space exploration in the aftermath of Dr. Daniel Jackson’s discovery of the galaxy’s numerous stargates…

    Stargate SG-1 follows the exploits of the SG-1 Unit (i.e. the “explorer” unit) of Stargate Command. When a new code is broken that reveals the location of stargates throughout the galaxy, Earth and its inhabitants are given the ability to travel through time to any point they wish instantaneously. Earth’s military sends out stargate (SG) teams to scour the universe for new technologies, new planets, and methods of defense against the oppressive Goa’uld. Brigadier General Jonathan “Jack” O’Neill (Richard Dean Anderson) is the commanding officer of SG-1. He’s accompanied by Dr. Daniel Jackson (Michael Shanks), the brilliant professor whose investigations originally helped uncover the existence of the stargates, and fellow teammates Samantha Carter (Amanda Tapping) and Teal’c (Christopher Judge). Together, they face numerous obstacles as they attempt to uncover the many mysteries of the universe…

    The Stargate SG-1 DVD features a number of exciting episodes including the series premiere “Children of the Gods” in which the System Lord Apophis launches an attack via the stargate, hidden by Earth’s military following the events of the original film. Earth orders a counterattack to find and destroy the alien invaders. Colonel Jack O’Neill comes out of retirement, tasked with the mission of locating Dr. Daniel Jackson on Abydos… Other notable episodes from Season 1 include “Brief Candle” in which Jack becomes infected with the rapid aging indigenous to the people of Argos, and “Tin Man” in which the team members of SG-1 are knocked unconscious only to find that they are robots when they awake…

    Below is a list of episodes included on the Stargate SG-1 (Season 1) DVD:

    Episode 1 (Children of the Gods: Part 1) Air Date: 07-27-1997
    Episode 2 (Children of the Gods: Part 2) Air Date: 07-27-1997
    Episode 3 (The Enemy Within) Air Date: 08-01-1997
    Episode 4 (Emancipation) Air Date: 08-08-1997
    Episode 5 (The Broca Divide) Air Date: 08-15-1997
    Episode 6 (The First Commandment) Air Date: 08-22-1997
    Episode 7 (Cold Lazarus) Air Date: 08-29-1997
    Episode 8 (The Nox) Air Date: 09-12-1997
    Episode 9 (Brief Candle) Air Date: 09-19-1997
    Episode 10 (Thor’s Hammer) Air Date: 09-26-1997
    Episode 11 (The Torment of Tantalus) Air Date: 10-03-1997
    Episode 12 (Bloodlines) Air Date: 10-10-1997
    Episode 13 (Fire and Water) Air Date: 10-17-1997
    Episode 14 (Hathor) Air Date: 10-24-1997
    Episode 15 (Singularity) Air Date: 10-31-1997
    Episode 16 (Cor-Ai) Air Date: 01-23-1998
    Episode 17 (Enigma) Air Date: 01-30-1998
    Episode 18 (Solitudes) Air Date: 02-06-1998
    Episode 19 (Tin Man) Air Date: 02-13-1998
    Episode 20 (There but for the Grace of God) Air Date: 02-20-1998
    Episode 21 (Politics) Air Date: 02-27-1998
    Episode 22 (Within the Serpent’s Grasp) Air Date: 03-06-1998


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here